Skip to content

Information Technology Specialist Certifications

The Information Technology Specialist program is a way for individuals to validate foundational IT skills sought after by employers. The IT Specialist program is aimed at candidates who are considering or just beginning a path to a career in information technology. Candidates can certify their knowledge in a broad range of IT topics, including software development, database administration, networking and security, mobility and device management, and coding.

Many companies such as CertNexus, SAS, Cisco Networking Academy, ISTE, and more have recognized IT Specialist exams. Click here for more information on industry recognition.

The American Council on Education’s College Credit Recommendation Service (ACE Learning Evaluations®) has evaluated and recommended college credit for the IT Specialist program. The recommended credit amount is three credits per IT Specialist exam passed.

Available Certification

Get Certified and Validate your Foundational Knowledge of IT!

IT Specialist (each exam is 50 minutes):

  • Artificial Intelligence: 45 – 50 Questions
  • Cloud Computing: 35 – 45 Questions
  • Computational Thinking: 43 – 50
  • Cybersecurity: 40 – 50 Questions
  • Databases: 35 – 45 Questions
  • Data Analytics: 35 – 45 Questions
  • Device Configuration and Management: 31 – 41 Questions
  • HTML and CSS: 35 – 45 Questions
  • HTML5 Application Development: 33 – 44 Questions
  • Java: 35 – 45 Questions
  • JavaScript: 35 – 45 Questions
  • Networking: 35 – 45 Questions
  • Network Security: 35 – 45 Questions
  • Python: 33 – 43 Questions
  • Software Development: 35 – 45 Questions

IT Specialist exam retake policy:

  • If a candidate does not achieve a passing score on an exam the first time, the candidate must wait 24 hours before retaking the exam.
  • If a candidate does not achieve a passing score the second time, the candidate must wait seven days before retaking the exam a third time.
  • A seven-day waiting period is imposed between each subsequent exam retake.
  • A candidate may not take a given exam any more than five times per year (12 months). This 12-month period starts from the first attempt. The candidate is then eligible to retake the exam 12 months from the date of the first attempt.
  • If a candidate achieves a passing score on an IT Specialist exam, the candidate cannot take it again.

A valid voucher is required for each exam attempt. Do not schedule an exam past the expiration date of the voucher. If the voucher is expired, you must purchase a new voucher. To purchase a single take voucher, voucher with retake, voucher with retake + practice test, or voucher with retake +  practice test + training bundles — CLICK HERE. If you are ready to schedule, click the blue SCHEDULE NOW! button and schedule your exam.

A Certiport voucher is a 16-character code (XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX). If you purchased a voucher or was issued a voucher from your school or organization, please assign the voucher to your Certiport account, immediately. This ensures the voucher is valid for the exam you are taking. Make sure the name of the voucher correlates to the exam you are taking.

If you purchased a voucher with a retake, the retake is issued ONLY if the exam is failed. A voucher is valid for one exam attempt. A retake is valid for one retake attempt. A retake voucher can only be used for the exam that was not passed. It cannot be used for a different exam.